loading ...

Thornham St James' C.E. Primary School

Thornham St James C.E. Primary School
  1. Home
  2. Governing Body




The Role of the Governing Body

The governing body is the school’s accountable body and is responsible for the school and for promoting high standards. Although appointed through different routes (i.e. parents, staff, authority, community, foundation), the overriding concern of all governors has to be the welfare of the school as a whole.

A successful school is a team where teachers, governors and parents work together for the benefit of all the pupils. The Governors serve for a period of four years. Governors meet at least once each term and, in consultation with the Headteacher, exercise oversight of the conduct and curriculum of the school and have responsibility for the school budget. They are also members of various committees e.g. finance, curriculum, buildings, staffing etc. and therefore attend necessary meetings. The Governors support the Headteacher and senior staff, provide challenge and support, advice and encouragement, and recognise and celebrate achievement.


Governors are involved in:

  • The general running of the school.
  • Policy development.
  • Planning the school budget.
  • Interviewing and selecting staff.
  • Supporting school discipline.
  • Maintaining the school ethos.


School Policy statements and Minutes of Governor Meetings are available on request from the Headteacher.


As of the autumn term 2021, the Governing Body consists of:

3 Foundation Governors                      Vacancy

   Mrs Laura Gore

                                                             Rev Katy Cunliffe


1 LEA Governor                                    Mr David Ferguson


3 Co-opted Governors                         Mr. Peter Townsend (Vice Chair)

                                                             Mrs. Stella Hodkinson

                                                             Mrs Margaret Foden


2 Staff Governors                                Mrs. Margaret Johnson (Headteacher)

                                                             Miss. Samantha Rooney ( Staff)


5 Parent Governors                             Mr. Ian Carey (Chair)                                                             

                                        Mrs Emma Tod

                                   Mr Darren Thomas

   Mrs Phillippa Barrett

   Miss Rebecca Morrish